Bridport’s vibrant street market takes place in the town centre on Wednesdays and Saturdays, from 9 am to around 2 pm.
Athelhampton’s history and that of its inter-related families covers more than a thousand years. Much of the present house has stood for over five centuries.
Sir William Martyn built the Hall at Athelhampton in about the year of 1485 and received a license to enclose 160 acres of deer park and fortify his manor. The house remained in the Martyn family for the next 4 generations until the house was eventually purchased by Alfred Cart de Lafontaine in 1891, who set about restoring the house and creating the formal gardens we see today.